Running for Fun Now

Posted: April 9, 2013 by kelseyray in IU Women's Sports

Michelle Dekkers Maton won cross country and track letters in 1988, 1989 and 1990.  She was Big Ten cross country championships three times.  She was named an All-American in cross country three times, led teams to Big Ten cross country championships and holds the best times on IU’s course in cross country.  She still holds IU records both indoors and outdoors in 5,000 and 10,000.

maton

So, what has Maton been running around doing lately?

Maton took time out from running to start a family and and move from Ohio to South Florida with her husband.

“Having kids gives me a good balance,” Maton said. “I’m not thinking about racing or training all the time. I like being busy with the kids.”

Maton runs in marathons for fun today.

“I still get a little nervous,” Maton said. “I’ve always had a problem with nerves. I enjoy it more because I am running for myself – not for a college, not for a team – just for myself.”

IND Women's Legend - Michelle Dekkers

Maton is a native of South Africa.  She grew up running barefoot and still trains that way sometimes today.

It seems like she can’t run away from track.  Not surprisingly, her husband is former NCAA indoor 800-meter champ Jim Maton.

Is it just me, or do we see running proteges in the future from these two?

Leave a Reply

